Rosie Turned 14 and is Still Cancer Free

Rosie-11-27-13-4

 

It is hard to believe it has been 5 years since Rosie was diagnosed with cancer. We adopted her 2 days before Christmas 2008 when she was 8 years old.  In June 2009 she was diagnosed with Mast Cell tumors. It was a month after her 9th birthday. I could tell by the look on my vet’s face, it was not good.  We took her to a veterinary oncologist and they told us, if we did nothing, she would have 2 months to live. If we did chemo, there was a 30 something percent chance of success.

However, the same month Rosie was diagnosed, a new drug called Palladia, was released specifically for Rosie’s type of cancer. However, there were a LOT of unknowns at the time.  Even so, It was absolutely the best option we had. For us, it was the answer to a prayer.

In August of 2009 Rosie started on the Palladia.  She was on it for a couple of months.  Then she was declared cancer-free. However, at the time, they thought the dog would have to take the Palladia for the rest of her life.  She she continued on the Palladia for over 2 years until at one check up they checked her blood pressure and it was sky high.  It was the Palladia.  Once they took her off of it, her blood pressure went back to normal.

After 5 years I cannot tell any lingering side effects.  The blood pressure was the most worrying but did not last.  Most side effects stopped after she went off of the Palladia.

If I were to do it again (which I hope I never ever have to) I would take the same course of action.

I’m sorry I have not kept up with the latest treatments these last few years.  We have been busy just living life.

For more information, I recommend joining the Canine Mast Cell cancer group on Yahoo.

https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/Canine_Mast_Cell_Tumor/info.

I don’t check this blog very often any more.   I recommend the above group for questions and discussions.

And Rosie has been cancer free since October 2009.  It is now May 2014 and she turned 14 this month and is still cancer free.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

6 Comments on “Rosie Turned 14 and is Still Cancer Free”

  1. Shelby Says:

    I think that is wonderful. I didn’t know you back then but I know you now and I’m so happy to know that your efforts to save Rosie were rewarded.

  2. Carole Orr Says:

    Bravo! You go Rosie!

  3. Kelly Says:

    I found Rosie’s story after my Maddie, a yellow Lab as well, was diagnosed with MCT days short of her 10th birthday in 2010. Unfortunately we didn’t try Palladia right away when the MCT returned a little over a year after surgery, going through some awful chemos before finally trying Palladia. It was Maddie’s miracle too, the tumors that had been growing before my eyes shrank before my eyes. We stopped too when Maddie’s white blood count tanked but the cancer returned months later. She has been on and off Palladia and Kinavet for the past 3 years. Her cancer’s latest return, mid April, once again responded to Kinavet.

    Maddie turned 14 on January 11th! Happy birthday to Rosie and congrats to such success. Maddie and Rosie are the symbols of hope for this darned disease. Thanks for posting.

    Kelly and Maddie

    • rosiesmom Says:

      So glad you still have Maddie! Sorry she has had the recurrences but glad the Palladia and Kinavet are working.

  4. Robert Marc STEINBAUER Says:

    Just read your wonderful stories, which are giving me a little hope to save my dog 14 years old Sam who has a MCT grade 3 (diagnosed one month ago).
    We will start the Palladia treatment next week.

    Robert


  5. So thankful for that treatment for your precious Rosie! She’s lucky to have you!


Leave a Reply

